Posted by: coastcontact | April 3, 2017

Trump just signed off on killing your Internet privacy protections

The article on CNN reads, “Trump signed into law a resolution that repealed protections requiring Internet service providers to get your permission before collecting and sharing data. These protections — which had not yet gone into effect — were approved by the Federal Communications Commission in the final days of the Obama administration.”

It is panic over absolutely nothing.

This resolution changes nothing. It only reinforces an existing reality. Here is the reality.

– I apply for life insurance and the carrier does an investigation of my past life. I am not qualified for their lowest quotation because they learn something about my life that they consider to be concerning. Where did they get that information?

– I do a search on-line for information about the 2017 Chevrolet Cruze and immediately every car maker offering competitive models has advertising in the header of my screen.

– The internet constantly bombards me with advertising that an algorithm has concluded will interest me.

– My bank has studied my buying habits and concluded I should have a new credit or debit card. They send the card to me without my request.

You think this resolution will change anything? No it won’t because almost every company knows almost everything about you now.

Responses

  1. The problem is that there was a law went into effect end of 2016 that would have prevented personal information from being sold and now that has been removed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

