Posted by: coastcontact | February 8, 2015

Behavior that Infringes of the Rights of Others

The Los Angeles Times reports that vaccinations have become off-limits in many online forums. “For the moment we ask you to refrain from posting about vaccines or measles,” read an updated rule for the Moms of Inglewood and Surrounding Communities page.

OK that may be the case on those forums and on some Facebook and Meetup groups but I am not afraid to speak my piece.

When I was a boy I had measles and mumps and chicken pox. All are serious illnesses. My parents feared being exposed to polio. I have a friend who lost a major part of her hearing thanks to measles or mumps. A devastating result from high fever. One in 100,000 cases results in death. Most of those who are infected and who die are less than five years old. The risk of death among those infected is usually 0.2%.

Anti-vax people can provide no reliable proof that vaccinations cause autism or any other disease. Freedom of choice is not an option when your choice may impact my family. It’s not just vaccinations. Our society should enforce laws that protect the innocent from the behavior of a few misguided individuals. This does not translate to government interfering with your private life. Freedom of religion does have its limits. Practice of behavior that infringes on the rights of others is unacceptable.

Responses

  1. Like yourself, I also had all of those and scarlet fever . I have always wondered if it played into my health problems all my life.
    I made sure my children would never suffer as I did. It blows my mind that any parent could be so ignorant and put not only their children at risk, but all of us. No one has to have the smallpox vaccine scar today, because it was eradicated. Imagine if the anti vaxers had been around back then. Now mumps has broken out in Idaho and already jumped to Washington.

  2. Interesting, my mother had scarlet fever and had dental problems all of her life. It would be interesting to know if there are lasting side effects after that disease is overcome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

