Posted by: coastcontact | October 2, 2014

Discrimination in the United States

Let’s be honest. Discrimination flourishes in the United States today.

Would Trayvon Martin’s killer be free today if he, Trayvon, was White?

Would Michael Brown have been shot and killed by a police officer on Aug. 9 if he had been White?

Was the Secret Service careless about the president because he is Black?

My daughter asked “If Mitt Romney had been elected president in 2012 would there be the same behavior by the Secret Service at the White House?”

I responded with asking should the question be re-phrased to read “If Barack Obama was White would the Secret Service have done anything more to stop the intruder before he entered the White House?”

Troubling questions in a world where we all want to pretend that discrimination doesn’t exist. I do discriminate against people whose views and behavior I consider objectionable. Given two people to hire: one Hispanic and one White Anglo Saxon, both with equal resumes, I am more likely to hire the White. The community I live in is at least 50% Hispanic. I do not feel comfortable going into the library. Yes, I feel more comfortable with the White man.  I do not share my feelings about this with anyone.

Does this make me a bigot? Merram-Webster definition: a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially :  one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

