Posted by: coastcontact | March 11, 2013

I Don’t Shop at Wal-Mart

Not only do I not shop at Wal-Mart, I do not have my oil changed at Jiffy Lube.  Companies like Wal-Mart do bring low cost goods to America and the world but they also treat their vendors and their employees like dirt.  As to Jiffy Lube, I prefer the attention of a capable mechanic.  I will never forget my one time at a quick lube franchise.  I had to have my car towed to another garage.

I am willing to pay a little more for the competent workers that are employed by the independent stores and garages that really give me the kind of services I want.

Yes, I shop at Costco.  The reason is that they pay their employees so well that the employee turnover is low.  My next door neighbor, a Costco employee, bought his home at the bottom of the housing collapse but still paid $333,000.  His wife has a part time at home business.  The pay at Costco can’t be too bad.

JobsMeanwhile the working poor are employed by the big and very successful national chains.  Those chains depend on low wage workers.  The companies are Wal-Mart, Target, Pizza Hut, McDonald’s, etc. etc.  The top 50 executives at each of those companies were paid an average of $9.4 Million a year.  The typical worker at those companies has an adjusted gross income of $13,900 a year.

Focusing on Wal-Mart, it’s subsidized by the taxpayers of America.  It has the most workers on public assistance. In 2007, the company shifted from regular shifts to flexible shifts, a change labor activists said was designed to force full-time workers to downgrade their status to part-time, so they would not qualify for health insurance or other benefits. The result is that hundreds of thousands of Wal-Mart employees rely on state benefits or Medicaid. Most of the company’s warehouses are contracted out to temp agencies, so even if a warehouse loader works full-time in a Wal-Mart warehouse for years, he gets no benefits.  Wal-Mart has also spent at least $1 billion since 2005 settling lawsuits over unpaid wages or illegal working conditions. One study estimated that Wal-Mart workers cost taxpayers more than $1 Billion every year.

Source for part of this article is The Week magazine.

Responses

  1. Very well said. I also have a boycott list and of course walmart is at the top. It is one of the only things we can do to change corporations is to boycott them. I noticed that walmart profits went down this last quarter, so maybe all the people that have chosen to boycott is hurting them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

