Posted by: coastcontact | September 23, 2012

“60 Minutes” Interviews the Candidates for President

I saw the 60 Minutes presentation of interviews with President Obama and Mitt Romney.  They did not impart anything consequential.  Both men stated that their views on the direction America should take are significantly different.  They are correct.

The most informative comments were at the end of each interview.  Both were asked about their vision for the nation.  Their responses were similar but the words they used, I believe are telling.

Romney used one word, Freedom.  The opportunity to freely build the business you want.  The idea of drawing the world’s best and brightest to the USA for innovation of new things.

Obama said he saw his objective to provide all Americans the opportunity to succeed without regard for their race, religion, sexual orientation, or other differences.

I am troubled by the Romney comment about the 47% of the population that pay no income taxes. “I’ll never convince them they should take personal responsibility and care for their lives.”  I worked all my life and now I rely on Social Security and Medicare for the larger part of my income.  I am no bum and keep my home in excellent condition.  I pay my property taxes on time.  I resent his implications.  If you are part of the 47%, you should too!

Responses

  1. As always a good posting. I also rely on Social Security and Medicare and feel that since i paid into the system all my working life, and Medicare when it came along, its not an entitlement. I also keep my home up, help my grown children when i can. I have found ways to supplement my income with of all things surveys. Its not much but it helps to buy presents for the grandkids and for those extras. I also am very offended by this mans disdain and contempt for the people of the usa. We as a whole are hard working, honest people that want nothing more than livable wages, education for our children, health care and a home to call our own. This man and the whole GOP(gods of poverty) will not make that happen. I am not so naive that i think the president will be what we thought he would be, but as i was reading an article on hoover and fdr i was struck by the similarity. What stood out the most is it was the people (populist movement) that helped to enact the changes that fdr put into action and he says just that in a quote of his. So when our president says that we will fix washington from the outside in, he is right. Sorry for such a long comment Peace


Leave a Reply

Categories

