Posted by: coastcontact | May 22, 2012

Facebook Folly

How many website do you subscribe to?

The say 800 million people have Facebook accounts. Those accounts are free. I am one of those subscribers and most likely so are you. I have never purchased anything as a result of having that account. I only go onto the account when I am bombarded by e-mail messages telling me that I have messages that require my response. Usually the messages are from people I do not know but want to be my friend. These are people who “maybe” did meet me somewhere but I can’t remember where and their faces are not familiar to me.

 I must agree with Betty White when she presented her monologue on SNL. “I really have to thank Facebook … I didn’t know what Facebook was, and now that I do know what it is, I have to say, it sounds like a huge waste of time. I would never say the people on it are losers, but that’s only because I’m polite. People say ‘But Betty, Facebook is a great way to connect with old friends.’ Well at my age, if I wanna connect with old friends, I need a Ouija Board. Needless to say, we didn’t have Facebook when I was growing up. We had phonebook, but you wouldn’t waste an afternoon with it.”

Betty White Monologue

Apparently Mark Zuckerberg convinced himself and millions of others that his free social media site could be a marketing tool. Betty White is correct. He is trying to sell access to the telephone book.

Buy a share of Facebook? Why? How many people will reach their purchasing decision based upon the things they see on that site. Facebook’s number three advertiser, General Motors, has discontinued their advertising on the site.

Leave a Reply

Categories

